Markram named South Africa T20 captain

Markram named South Africa T20 captain.—ANI/file

Johannesburg: South Africa’s new white-ball coach Rob Walter unveiled his first squad on Monday with Aiden Markram as the new T20 captain, but there was no place for former skipper Faf du Plessis.

Despite holding talks with Walter du Plessis, no agreement has been reached for the one-day and Twenty20 international series against the West Indies this month.

Cricket South Africa Director Enoch Nkwe said this does not mean the door is closed on the 38-year-old du Plessis, who did not play. South Africa From February 2021 onwards or other non-contract cricketers.

“We are always open to negotiations with out-of-state players, we are happy to engage and find the best way forward,” Nkwe said.

As expected, Marking the framewho marked his return to the Test side with a fine 115 in the win over the West Indies last week, has been named the captain of the T20 side.

But there was no place for Test captain Themba Bavuma in the T20 team, but he will continue to lead the ODI side.

Nkwe said Walter’s brief was to ensure that South Africa build an ODI team capable of winning the 2027 Cricket World Cup in South Africa.

“The big one is 2027,” Nkwe said. “But we should not lose sight of 2023 (World Cup in India). There is no pressure on him (Walter) to win this year, but together we have to push through to 2027.”

According to Walter, the ODI team will be the first step towards this year’s World Cup, giving a chance to several young players who will be joined by five more experienced players for the third and final match against the West Indies.

West Indies ODIs are not part of the World Cup Super League.

Fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and Henrich Northier have been rested for the one-day games but will return for the T20s, which conclude three days before the two World Cup Super League games against Holland.

South Africa will automatically qualify for this year’s World Cup if they beat the Dutch.

Nkwe said talks have been held with the Indian boards and the Indian Premier League to ensure South Africa can field a full squad for the Netherlands matches.

Former South African batsman JP Duminy has been appointed as South Africa’s white-ball coach.

ODI squads

Themba Bavuma (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock (training), Tony de Zorzi, Bjorn Fortuyn, Riza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Wian Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Felukwayo, Tristansa Williams Stubbs, Rassi van says Dussen.

They will be joined in the third match by Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller and Wayne Parnell.

Group T20I

Markram (capt), De Kock (wkt), Fortuyn, Hendricks, Jansen, Klaasen, Magala, Miller, Ngidi, Henrich Northje, Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Riley Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Stubbs.

Matches against West Indies:

March 16, 1st ODI, East London

March 18, 2nd ODI, East London

March 21, 3rd ODI, Potchefstroom

March 25, 1 T20, Centurion

March 26, 2 T20, Centurion

28 March, 3 T20, Johannesburg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *