Karachi Kings ended their PSL tour with an 86-run win against Lahore Qalandars

Muhammad Akhlaq of Karachi Kings celebrates after scoring a half-century (50 runs) during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) Twenty20 cricket match between Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars at the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium on March 12, 2023 in Lahore. — AFP

Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalandars by 86 runs on Sunday as the latter chased down a 197-run target in the 30th over. Pakistan Super League (PSL) eighth edition today at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Chasing a target of 197 runs, Lahore were restricted to 110 runs in 18.5 overs.

Lahore often fell behind in runs as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Hussain Talat top scored for Lahore with 25 points.

Imad Wasim, Akif Javed, Mohammad Umar and Imran Tahir took two wickets for the winning side.

Rashid Khan left the field after being hit by a bullet in his helmet. According to a brief update shared by Kalan, the medical board is monitoring his condition.

Kings crashed out of the PSL title race for the eighth time as Imad Wasim and Co lost seven out of 10 matches.

Karachi Kings were playing for pride as they were knocked out of the play-off race earlier in the tournament.

Electing to bat first, Karachi posted 20 runs at 196-7.

First innings

Opener Mohammad Akhlaq top scored with 51 runs off 36 balls with the help of five fours and two sixes.

Tayyab Tahir scored 40 runs and skipper Imad Wasim added 45 runs. Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf and Hussain Talat took two wickets for Lahore.

Earlier, the Kings won the toss and elected to bat.

Captain Shaheen Shah Afridi has been rested for today’s match. In the pacer’s absence, David Wiese put the reigning champions ahead.

In the first match of the day Peshawar Zalmi defeated Islamabad United By 13 runs in Rawalpindi, it will ensure that both teams lock horns in the 1st Eliminator of the event.

The result also confirmed that reigning champions Lahore Qalandars will face Multan Sultans in the qualifiers of the tournament.

The Qualifier will be played on March 15th, with the winner going directly to the Finals, and the 1st Eliminator will be played on March 16th.

The loser of the Qualifier and the winner of Eliminator 1 will meet in Eliminator 2 on March 17 for a place in the finals.


Lahore Cities: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Kamran Ghulam, Sam Billings (c), Hussain Talat, David Wiese (c), Shane Dadswell, Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, Dilbar Hussain, Zaman Khan

Kings of Karachi: Hyder Ali, Mohammad Akhlaq (wk), Tayab Tahir, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim (c), Ben Cutting, Irrfan Khan, James Fuller, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Umar, Akif Javed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *