Tom Latham will lead New Zealand in the ODI series against Sri Lanka

Tom Latham will lead New Zealand’s one-day international team in a three-match series against Sri Lanka later this month, while Kane Williamson will play in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Latham will skipper the white-ball matches at Auckland’s Eden Park on March 25, Christchurch three days later and Hamilton on March 31.

Kane Williamson (Gujarat Titans), Tim Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders), Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner (both Chennai Super Kings) are unavailable, New Zealand Cricket said.

The quartet will join the Indian franchises after the second Test against Sri Lanka, which begins in Wellington on Friday.

Williamson led New Zealand to a last-ball victory over Sri Lanka in the opening Test on a rain-soaked final day in Christchurch on Monday.

With many stars missing, Black Caps coach Gary Stead included South African batsman Chad Bowes and seamer Ben Lister in the ODI squad.

Lister made his Twenty20 debut in India last month, while this is the first time Bowes has been selected for the Black Caps.

New Zealand will host Sri Lanka in three Twenty20 matches after the ODI series.

ODI squad to play against Sri Lanka: Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glen Phillips, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Leave a Comment